• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Shoes and Hub too Tight

SturmTyger380

I am new to the M35 trucks and my son and I have been rebuilding his brakes. We have new shoes and have the rear axle done. With the new shoes the hubs fit really close and have to be lined up just right to go on.

I am working on the drivers side first rear axle. I have the shoes on and adjusted the bottom adjusters to where I think they are in most.

The top adjusters are turned so that they are at the in most position. With the return spring on the shoes are not pulled back all the way to touch the adjusters. I am guessing the new slave piston is holding them out. I can put a hold down strap around the shoes and cinch them in but I can't leave that on and when I release it the shoes move back out.

How can I get the shoes retracted more so that the drum will go on?

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Open the bleeder?

SturmTyger380

We have not connected any of the hydraulic lines. We plan on purging the lines last thing before we connect everything. There is the plastic plug in the brake line hole of the cylinder. I had not thought that it might be tight enough to keep the pistons from going in. Hummm...... will have to check that out. If that is it I am going to feel stupid. :oops:

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Doghead's method will work, I've used it before when I ran into your problem.