• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Potential Voltage Issue? Voltage gauge jumping around.

radrob

Hi everyone, I am new here and this is going to be my first post. I am brand new to the world of Humvee's, but not new to the automotive world.

Recently we acquired a '92 Humvee and it was in great condition mechanically and cosmetically. When we first acquired it, the truck was a little sluggish to crank and fire, but it did so just fine. I was planning on adding a bunch of electronics to it for some testing purposes, so I decided to just go ahead an swap out the batteries. I went ahead and installed 2 new Optima yellow tops, and rewired them the same way the old ones came out. Everything was completely fine, except for the battery voltage gauge would jump around on initial start up. It jumps around for about 5 minutes before settling down and stays solidly in the green right where it needs to be. Now if its night time and the headlights are on, they flicker with the gauge jumping around, but once everything settles down, they stay nice and steady. Being that this was just a test vehicle for us to develop some products for, I didn't think much of it as even if it sat for a week or 2, it would crank right up no issues and not even slightly sluggish.

Fast forward to last week, some coworkers took it to lunch, and within the hour of it sitting in the parking lot, the batteries had drained enough that it was cranking slowly and wouldn't start. They called me and I made sure they weren't messing around with the lights or something and left them on, and they assured me that they didn't.