• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

rust repair

acthomp781

Hello. I want to start with a big THANK YOU to everyone on this site. This site has made owning an M1009 much easier. I have looked, maybe not enough, but have not found any info on the rust I have. I want to repair this so it will not get worse. I am assuming the antenna hole on the passenger side was left open causing this. I have no experience with body work. Thank you for your time.DSCN2489.jpg

MarcusOReallyus

That's cut it out and weld in new steel territory. You aren't going to patch that.

If you can do that kind of work yourself, go for it. If not, see if you can find a body shop that does. Not all will.

The FLU farm

Steel Soldiers Supporter
acthomp781;2048623 I am assuming the antenna hole on the passenger side was left open causing this. [/QUOTE said:
I'd guess that being in Ohio has much more to do with that corrosion than does the antenna holes. Anyway, rust is rust, no matter what vehicle it has attacked and has to be taken care of in pretty much the same way. In other words, it's generic, not CUCV specific, which may be why there aren't many posts about it.
You may want to check the more important stuff underneath before worrying about what's shown in the photo.

Drock

If you have a Mig welder, floor pans and inner structure like this is a real good place to learn rust repair. You can basically make all the pieces out of 18 gauge sheet metal, tin snips, and a hammer & dolly. just remember, focus on making strong welds, the grinder will make it pretty:beer:

eme411

Steel Soldiers Supporter