• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

So what, exactly, keeps the turbo pressure of 6.2s at 10 psi??

Knightmare

I've searched a little (not a lot, don't kill me), and from what I have read, the max boost on a 6.2, safely, is 10 psi. Then they talk about running into physical limitations, without further elaboration.

I have read this in more than one spot.

I'm kinda new to these trucks, but I have a decent understanding of what makes the diesel engine tick. I'm working on my experience level with them.

So, where is the weak point, with boost, exactly?

JAsher45

there are alot of factors going on when you start adding boost. this is an IDI engine, which means that the fuel is combusted in a combustion chamber in the cylinder head. as the gas expands it shoots out of the chamber... downward and across the piston face causing your power stroke. the opening of the combustion chamber greatly effects the flame speed and desired effect. i have learned this the hard way. as a project that i was on rebuilding 6.5 NA engines. we were giving contracted heads to build the engines. they were reman GM 6.5 cylinder heads.... but they were civi heads from 91-93 from trucks that had the banks turbos system installed according to the casting numbers. the problem came when dyno testing. the engines could not meet HP and TQ. the reason is the precombustion chamber is vastly different. the opening is large and wide, compared to small and narrow. with the larger opening the with no Boost the flame speed was to slow across the piston, and also caused incomplete fuel burn. @ 3600 rpms fuel was actually flowing out and burning in the exhaust.