• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Starter Running on

PeeWeeQ

So, a few weeks ago, my starter crapped the bed in my work parking lot.

I am also going to interject here by saying that I am a nursing student with very little time on my hands at the moment--so, if I seem like I'm trying to just throw parts at the problem or am not willing to trace circuits, its only because (between working full-time, classes, studying, and clinicals) I am VERY limited on time.

Anyway, back to the parking lot...I bought a new 24V starter on Amazon--a friend of mine has had the same one in his M1009 for years--and I didn't have the money for an OEM (maybe next summer). I put installed it (lying on the cold ground of the parking lot) and as soon as I reconnected the battery (I have switches that allow me to quickly disconnect/isolate each battery), the starter starts turning the engine over without even having a key in the ignition. I thought it was probably a bad starter (easiest thing to eliminate with my limited time) so, after having the Beast towed home, I exchanged it for another. Mounted up that starter--same result.

Is there likely a short? Bad relay(s) (I have done the Doghead relay mod)? I have all of Saturday (tomorrow) off now, so, I'll be able to crawl under and explore, but, I'm looking for a good starting place. Again, until the starter pooped, the old beast was doing just fine.

Thank you all, ahead of time for your help!

patracy

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Almost certain you've got a dead starter relay. The "doghead relay" mod is a fix for this.

A great thread outlining the CUCV is here:

And of course the TM's are available here:

cucvrus