• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Thinking of changing tire size on my M923

sniperboy

I recently bought a M923a1 with the big (14x20 - Goodyear super singles - offroad tires). So far I'm not pleased with the ride. I think most of my trips are going to be on pavement. It drives nice in the dirt but on the road anything over 45mph gets kind of bumpy. After having several big 4x4"s with 38" superswampers I am familier with all the balancing issues with big off road tires. I'm new in the MV hobby (already hooked) and would like you guys to give me some ideas as to what my options are. I would like to stay with the rims I now have as my funds are limited.

Beerslayer

Steel Soldiers Supporter
What tire pressure are you running? I dropped mine to 35 PSI and it rides better, thinking to drop another 5 lbs as the fronts still have the chicken bumps on the face of the tread on the outside.

gringeltaube

Staff Member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
.......... on the road anything over 45mph gets kind of bumpy. ...................... I would like to stay with the rims I now have ..............
Yes, those 14.00R20 are tall heavyweights and as such will bounce and shake the whole truck around, at higher speed - if not correctly balanced! Most likely that is the real problem (only!)
Any other (smaller O.D.) tire option to fit your existing 20"x10" rims will weigh nearly as much and will do exactly the same...
And reducing tire pressure will eventually reduce the effect, but not eliminate the cause!

I also used to play with 40" D.Cepek's and 44" Superswampers..., and had to learn how to balance them myself (since in this country no tire shop would even look at them...)