• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Turn Signal Switch Fix

USArmyMedic07

Ok fellas, I had a bad connection in my turn signal system. I checked and cleaned all of the grounds, including at each light housing, and the ground on the steering column which holds the switch to the column. (yes, that is a ground point). I am a newbie, but I have plenty of free time, and used to drive a LMTV, 5 ton, and hmmwv in the Army. Have done the basic maintenance and troubleshooting when the mechanic (my buddy tweeter) was busy. That is the back story on why you might want to try my solution.

If you have intermittent function with your turn signals and flashers and have checked all of your grounds, then you may want to open up your switch and check to see that the contacts are all making good contact when you turn the switch.

You'll need a phillips screwdriver to remove the switch and open it up. Next, put the plastic part on that engages the contacts and turn it with a slotted screwdriver. Check and ensure that each of the contacts is making GOOD contact, including the ground contact. Check all of the wires while you are in there and make sure nothing is busted. The switch is sealed, and doesnt get much abuse (usually) so it shouldn't be too badly destroyed. Try this before you bother with buying a new switch. If anyone tries this and finds it useful, please reply and say so.

Thanks Ya'll

Zak

cattlerepairman

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Good fix! Turn signals acting up can also be because of the turn signal "flasher box" in the engine compartment going bad. I cleaned and adjusted the switch, too, but needed a new box in the end.

Last edited:

USArmyMedic07