• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Vent Hose and What Else to Check?

Bowmanvolfire

Hello Forum:

Just had a new to me M35A2C 1972 American General dropped off. 12,716 miles with 379 hours. The truck runs down the road, stops, has air assisted steering.

I have zero "big" truck experience. On the passenger side of the motor there appears to be a vent tube. A good amount of "steam" is coming out with the motor running after I ran it up and down the road a few times. The heat index here is 101. Is this normal?

I know to check all of the truck's fluids before I run it anymore. Oil, coolant, brake fluid. Anything else I should look at right away?

Thanks for taking pity.

John
Lakeside City TX

davidb56

Hello Forum:

Just had a new to me M35A2C 1972 American General dropped off. 12,716 miles with 379 hours. The truck runs down the road, stops, has air assisted steering.

I have zero "big" truck experience. On the passenger side of the motor there appears to be a vent tube. A good amount of "steam" is coming out with the motor running after I ran it up and down the road a few times. The heat index here is 101. Is this normal?

I know to check all of the truck's fluids before I run it anymore. Oil, coolant, brake fluid. Anything else I should look at right away?

Thanks for taking pity.

John
Lakeside City TX
A pic would help, but that sounds like the blow by crankcase vent and it better not be steam.

Bowmanvolfire

This can be water vapor or oil vapor. If you change the oil and it disappears, it is water vapor. If it remains, it is called “blowby” and it’s a sign of piston rings not sealing well. Again, an oil change with some kind of additives like Lucas can help.
Thanks for the answers.