• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Why convert 24V to 12V

Colcolombo

Hello all,

I am a newbie to this forum but not to M38A1's. I have owned two and regrettably
sold both. I live in West Kentucky and am actively seeking that old M38A1 hidden in a barn, covered with plastic, on blocks and with an odometer reading of 3,000 miles.

I would like to start my posting with a question that has long puzzled me. I am not being critical with this question, just curious.

Why would anyone want to destroy a reliable, beautiful system (24V) by converting
it to 12V. This is like replacing a diamond with a zircon. From my experience, a 24V system is far superior and never wears out. It just seems criminal to me to convert to 12V.

Let's hear some answers. Maybe I am missing something.

BFR

Rocket Surgeon
Unfortunatley my jeeps electrical had been hacked beyond recognition before I got it. I think it is primarily done on the assumption that parts will be easier/cheaper to find. (which may be true if for whatever reason the starter or generator takes a dump) While I do like the 24V setup, the one on my jeep was hacked/destroyed before I bought it and it is not worth the expense of finding/buying all those parts when it will run just as well as a 12V system.

pvtjorge

This is my opinion:
Nothing wrong with the 24volt system. It's just as reliable as any other system what ever the voltage.
Most reason you will find 24 volt systems converted to 12 volts was because the military 24volt components were hard to find back when. I believe since the internet things are easier to find these days.

wbrianiii