• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

GMC transmission questions,(UPDATED)

AMGeneral

Ok Folks,I'm kinda new in this aera so bear with me,

I just pruchased a XM 211 that I now have running,BUT It only has foward and reverse in LOW range,an it does not want to shift up in LOW either just stays in First. When it is put in HIGH range it seems to go in gear( the engine stalls down somewhat) but it doesn't move and the driveshaft from the trans to the T-case will not turn by hand at that time either. I have some expeierence in offroad heavy duty auto transmissions and Allison as well,but kinda wondering if maybe this is a simple problem.Any Input would be welcome.

Michael

RE: GMC transmission questions

It has been a while since I studied up on these, but it could be something simple like adjustment problems in the linkage. This transmission shift points are controlled by engine rpm if I remember correctly. Could have the wrong fluid in the transmission. They came out with motor oil, but could be changed to transmission fluid. I don't remember what had to be done to change from oil to transmission fluid.

APM215

Oil or Atf? I used 40 weight and have had better luck with that then Atf.
fill the oil with the truck running and in gear.
You could try adjusting the linkage from the carburetor to the transmission either forward or back just take note of where it was.
Hope this helps.
Best of luck.

Michael

the transmission may have had to be rebuilt to use ATF. Then you never know what has been done with these older trucks. One reason I moved on to stuff straight out of service. :)

butch atkins

tranny troubles