• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Which multi-fuel engine is the best choice?

Lonesome715

If you were to buy a multi fuel engine for a project, which would be the best choice? Listed below if the criteria I would use to select the right engine. I am very new to this subject matter so any input you all have would be appreciated.

1. Maintenance cost
2. Longevity
3. Sensitivity to used engine oil as fuel
4. Simplicity and easy to repair
5. Good for towing
6. Fuel mileage
7. Parts availability
8. High tolerance to power adders and up-grades
9. Simple electrical system
10. Reliability

I should add that I am not familiar with any of the makes and models out there. So feel free to dumb down your answers. I will not be insulted.

grounded

Banned
they are all pretty much the same. but if you must pick outta a LDT or LDS get the LDS hands down... its got more power.. but far as white, continental, hercules.. its like GL. you just gotta roll the dice.

crazyplowboy

According to the Multifuel operators manual the L is liquid cooled, D is Diesel (compression ignition), S is supercharged
LD models do not have a turbosupercharger
LDT motors are turbo motors

Lonesome715

Thank you for clarifing. Why woulf the five tons not have turbos in them. I would think if iether truck needed a power adder it would be the five ton. Is there is a displacement difference between the two? If there is, I do not need one from five ton. It it powered a deuce, that is all I need. I would prefer it be a turbo engine though.

grounded

Banned
5 tons do have turbos on them also.

the 2 1/2 ton some came without turbos. hence the LD. but most of them have the turbo or LDT..