• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

how to identify a M51 A2 dump truck

Robo McDuff

In memorial Ron - 73M819
Steel Soldiers Supporter
From a complete newby, who has been dreaming about this for years.

We more or less are getting a M51 dump truck for scrapp price. We will use it and some other old equipment in our non-profit project to restore a small-gauge railroad and for demonstrations and events. Problem is, I have to import the truck but it seems it never had any road registration or proper vehicle identification assigned to it.

According the current owner, the truck was bought about 10 or more years ago from an army surplus sale in Germany. It seems the truck was transported there as part of the post-war and cold-war presence of the US army in Germany, and never entered into active service. Less then 50 miles or so when sold as surplus, no further identification or registration numbers entered.

The identification tag shows following

Kaiser Jeep Corporation
mer.ser.no. 512312649
5 ton 6x6 M-51 A2 w/w
ord. service nr 8736516
fed stock no 2320-035-9263

It has a multifuel engine, about 3500 miles on the counter, the engine is supposed to be running without problem but have not heard it, the cabine soft cover is destroyed and the truck has been standing outside in the rain like that for at least a year or more.

I tried to run a search on the fed stock number, both as niin and as nsn (with two zero's inserted after the four digits). No dice. Other searches come up either empty or with too much pages on non-related stuff in the beginning.

My questions are:
- which year this truck was manifactured?
- how can I find more info about this truck, did it belong to a specific unit or was it an unassigned replacement item?