• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Electric fuel pump recommendation

CUCV420

Hey everyone. I am looking for a good electrical fuel pump for the ol' CUCV and I was wondering if anyone has had good experiences with certain brands. I've had a few go bad because I'm cheap. No more.

Perhaps a fully contained lift pump and filter assembly to go straight to the IP?

kapnklug

I've been running a Walbro FRB-22 pump for a couple years. It was a little pricey at $120, but has a built-in prefilter, pumps only on demand, and can handle WVO and B100. There's a cheaper version called the FRB-5. It's worked well for me, but you have to watch when you clean the prefilter that you don't lose the o-ring or it will start sucking air.

acesneights1

AFAIK the Walbro FRB5 is discontinued and replaced by a newer model ...I think anyway. For a CUCV A factory lift pump from a 1993 Chevy K3500 6.5TD is the best LP to use as it is designed to work with a DB2. If you put a LP on with to much pressure it could screw with the cold advance.
I personally run an Airdog but it is way unnecessary. I had it laying around.

chief1983

The FR series pumps are still on their website, I think it was the 2000 and 6000 series that they replaced. And I think their output is adjustable to match the lift pump. I mostly want it to simplify other fuel system operations like bleeding and draining, and if I get one at all I want one that will last.

CUCV420

AFAIK the Walbro FRB5 is discontinued and replaced by a newer model ...I think anyway. For a CUCV A factory lift pump from a 1993 Chevy K3500 6.5TD is the best LP to use as it is designed to work with a DB2. If you put a LP on with to much pressure it could screw with the cold advance.