• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Deuce Still wandering across the lane

Volfe

So I return to this excellent site, and all the good people on it, to ask a question. Before I do ask that question, let me first state that I know there are several forum posts on this topic, and I have poured over them several times( decided to start a new one to keep it clear on where I have been and seen). So let me tell you what I have done.

RancherRob (member on this site) owns an M35A2, and he hired me to work on it with him (I am a 10 year Army Mechanic Vet, and have worked on the M35A2 before). We replaced the stock tires with the 395 HEMMT tires, rebuild the suspension, powder coated all components to the suspension, added inter-lockers to the diff's and a few other minor modifications. We road tested the vehicle about a week or so ago and found her wandering all over the road. We both referred back to this site and got all sorts of good advice. Looked into the steering gear box and found that it was out of spec, rebuilt it and tightened it up. When we assembled the 395's, I inflated them to 60 psi, then after receiving advice to do so, lowered the tire pressure to 40 psi. Also measured the toe in and found the tires toe out .25 inch, so adjusted that to 0, as it was also advised that it should be as close to 0 as possible. I test drove the truck last week and found that she still wanders a bit (far better than before), but rancherrob would like to eliminate as much of it as possible. Other than tearing the front suspension apart and flipping/ grinding the shims on the leaf springs, is there anything more that can be done?

As always, thank you in advance for the info, ideas..

Volfe

Last edited by a moderator:

Warthog

Super Moderator