• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV Coolant Issue

Curtisje

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I could spend the time digging through some 80s tech manuals I have, but I won't. I've been filling cars from this era and long before for over 30 years this way, and it works. Underfilling would be gallons...this is just a few quarts in a several gallon system. Letting the rad cap, in its set spring pressure, to set the coolant level is how it's done. If he had a blown head gasket, it wouldn't matter how he filled it. The upper hose would be under high pressure after a few minutes of running and over heating would occur, none of which is happening.

Sent from my SM-S906U using Tapatalk
If the cooling system is working properly the coolant level in the radiator will be at the neck/cap when you check it in the morning. If it's not he has a prblem.

I didn't say he had a blown head gasket, I just advised him to fill the radiator to the top and continue to look for the real problem.

I'm not trying to get in an argument about this. If anyone can show me GM or CUCV instructions that state anything different from what I have stated I will be grateful for learning something new, until then I will continue to advise based on my 40+ years of experience with GM trucks and the maintenance instructions associated with those trucks.

I'm here to help and understand we all have different opinions and experiences. Good luck.

Attachments

rsl0311usmc

Brother you have a problem but underfilling your radiator will only cause more problems. An air pocket in the head may cause a cracked head.