• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Military wheels on a civilian truck

K-Whopper94

Hey everyone, I’m new here, and after over 20 years of lurking on forums for all kinds of vehicles, this is my first time ever registering and posting.

So I have a 1994 Kenworth W900 boom truck that I just keep around for fun, and have been wanting to swap military wheels/super single tires on. (I’m thinking 49s based on my tandem axle spacing, but I don’t think that’s relevant to this post) The truck has stud piloted Budd wheels from the factory, so I’m hoping it’s possible, I know stud pilot is/was popular in military rigs. I’m also curious how I mount a wheel with the big stud holes on my drive axles with the small studs. Do I use the nuts that hold the outer duals on?

Also, I had a fantasy of swapping a 6x6 front axle under it, but I definitely need air brakes, large 10 hole hub, and at least a 16-18k lb capacity. (Static weight on the steer axle is 14k currently)

Any and all insight is much appreciated!!

Attachments

K-Whopper94

Hey everyone, I’m new here, and after over 20 years of lurking on forums for all kinds of vehicles, this is my first time ever registering and posting.

So I have a 1994 Kenworth W900 boom truck that I just keep around for fun, and have been wanting to swap military wheels/super single tires on. (I’m thinking 49s based on my tandem axle spacing, but I don’t think that’s relevant to this post) The truck has stud piloted Budd wheels from the factory, so I’m hoping it’s possible, I know stud pilot is/was popular in military rigs. I’m also curious how I mount a wheel with the big stud holes on my drive axles with the small studs. Do I use the nuts that hold the outer duals on?