• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Loud Bang Coming From the Rear (of my M1009)

ssdvc

LOL!! OK, when I take a sharp curve or make a turn onto another road or into a driveway, I get a fairly loud bang coming from the rear area of my M1009. Doesn't matter which way I turn, left or right. I jacked it up and checked underneath to see if anything was broken or loose or out of place, but it all looked good. No play in the shafts either.

I put her in neutral and rotated each tire in both directions. It took about an inch before the tire would turn the driveshaft, but it was the same for each side. I did notice when I turned a wheel on one side the other side remained stationary. I am no master mechanic, but I thought when you turned one in one direction, the opposite wheel would turn in the other?? I am wrong?

Anyway, any guesses as to what could be causing the noise?

LT67

LOL!! OK, when I take a sharp curve or make a turn onto another road or into a driveway, I get a fairly loud bang coming from the rear area of my M1009. Doesn't matter which way I turn, left or right. I jacked it up and checked underneath to see if anything was broken or loose or out of place, but it all looked good. No play in the shafts either.

I put her in neutral and rotated each tire in both directions. It took about an inch before the tire would turn the driveshaft, but it was the same for each side. I did notice when I turned a wheel on one side the other side remained stationary. I am no master mechanic, but I thought when you turned one in one direction, the opposite wheel would turn in the other?? I am wrong?

Anyway, any guesses as to what could be causing the noise?