• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Not familiar with M880

dirtyfingernails

I'm new to this beast and have an opportunity to buy one. What do I look for to make sure I'm getting a fairly good truck? Rust--of course. I understand the engine is a 318. Are the axles, transfer case and tranny rugged? Gear ratios deep? Thanks for any pointers on what to look for.
Steve

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
318. 727 tranny, dana 44 front, dana 60 rear, open diffs, NP203 transfer case, 4.10 gears. Pretty tough trucks. Basically a W200 Dodge pickup. Not too well liked by the masses but I think they are a great truck. Rust is the #1 issue I'd say.

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Your Deuce will probably get better gas mileage as well....................

Elwenil

Hey now. They are good trucks, but they are fulltime 4WD and have a few issues in common with the civilian fulltime 4WD Dodge trucks from 1975-81. Rust is always an issue with these trucks as well as the unit bearing front hub design. Some people swear by the unit bearing, but most swear at them and all other arguments aside, they are much more maintenance intensive that traditional dual cone bearing front hubs. I for one will not own a truck with unit bearings as I am very rough on my trucks and I have seen to many failures to have confidence in them. I don't think anyone can seriously argue that there are not more front bearing issues with the 75-81 and the 84 and up trucks than were in the 74 and older and 82-93 trucks.