• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newb here!

Socomsam

Hey all!

Name is Jeff and just wanted to introduce myself to everyone.

I spent several years in the Army (SOCOM Ft Bragg) during the 80's where I fell in love with the CUCV. I never tired of driving them! The jeep may have been the workhorse of the Army, but the CUCV was the stallion.

I bought my first M1009 back in 2000 and sold it to move to Vegas last year. Still regret it :(

inspired by Jim Newton, I plan on converting a Suburban to a CUCV :D I like the space the burbs have to offer, especially for families.

Anyway, I'll be hanging around. I'm not a mechanic, so I won't be able to offer much, but I do have one tip I learned from our Motor Pool Sgt.

Because military paint is porous, moisture will soak through to metal over time and begin the rust process. We used to spray a light dusting of furniture wax over the vehicles every so often. Worked like a charm! The water would bead!

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome aboard Jeff, glad to have you. I like Ike's burb too and would love to do one. Stick around, if you like green steel, this place has lots going on!

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Welcome Jeff!

There are lots of folks here with CUCV's, but before long, we'll have you in a deuce... :)

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
mangus580 said:
this coming from someone who doesnt have either yet....

rofl
Easy hoss, I'm working on it............rofl

Warren Lovell

Oh just great Jeff!