• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Please help with oil pressure problem

cougarman

I just picked up a deuce that seems to run ok but I am concerned about the oil pressure. It is a 1968 with a Hercules with turbo. I put on a manual gauge & it reads 50 psi at idle cold, then drops to 10 hot at idle. At 1200 rpm it goes to 25 hot. it shows 24k on odometer & low hours. The engine is quiet when running the first fifteen minutes then it seems to have deep knocks after it warms up. Could it be an oil pump, relief valve or simple as wrong oil? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have been a mechanic all of my adult life & I never seen anything quite like this. Usually when an engine is wore out, it is sludged & noisy both hot & cold. This one looks extremely clean on inside as far as I can see. Thanks for your help in advance:roll:

cougarman

I am not sure what was put in it. It is clear & seems thin even when cold. The 15w40 oil we use at work has a yellow tint (Exxon/Mobile).

Srjeeper

I'd change the oil and filters to see if there's any difference. I would also send out a sample of the old oil and have it analyzed. That will give you some additional insight as to what's goin on inside. Good luck......

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter