• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

WMO filtering idea

Howdy, newbie here:

I don't have a Deuce yet, but soon hopefully :)

Anyways, I had an idea for a WMO filter system that seems fairly simple in my mind, but I'm sure someone will show me why it won't work.

Put waste oil in a 55 gallon drum set up on legs or some sort, or cinder blocks even. Tap the bottom and run a line from that, through your choice of large filters with small micron ratings, and then into another 55 gallon drum's top lid that is vented. The first 55 gallon drum would be air tight once you put the WMO in and close it up. Have an air fitting on the top of the first 55 gallon drum that you connect your home air compressor hose to. Set your compressor shut off pressure at ~80 psi. The air pressure would push down on the oil in the drum and push it through the filters and into the other 55 gallon drum. As the WMO level drops in the first drum, the air space expands and the pressure drops, so the compressor kicks back on and brings the pressure back up to 80 psi to help push the oil through the lines.

Any thoughts? The only problem I've been able to come up with yet is that once you empty all of the oil out of the first drum, your air compressor would run constantly unless you manually shut it off.

rattlecan6104

they have shop air powered 55 gal pumps that work this way, the drums hold up, but its scary as **** when the drums start to expand or contract under the pressure.