• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M762 Yard Sale find.

CJ_Tiz

Guess you can say I'm a noob to the foum but have been lurking for a year or so.

I was on a hunt to find a M416 trailer to pull behind my 83' CJ7. With very little luck over the last couple years. (I have a low budget) I was driving around yard sales on a beautiful Saturday morning when I came across a 1967 M762 Flatbed trailer.

It shares the same frame as the M416 but with less weight its rated at 3/4 ton. The previous owner found it in a barn when he purchased some property and has had it sitting under a tarp for several years. Thankfully he left the hand brake off as the cable is shot and locked up in the sleeve. There is some surface rust but very little. There is no rot and the under carriage looks like a 9.5 out of 10.

Attachments

hndrsonj

Senior Chief/Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I hadn't seen one of those before; what were they used for? What's the piece on the tongue used for?

CJ_Tiz

It was used to carry several pieces of equipment ranging from a light tower to a welder. The thing on the tongue is so you can relocate the eye higher to tow behind a taller vehicle.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Great score. I'd love to find one of these. The secondary lunette spot can be priceless. Just curious, how many sheckels did it set you back?

CJ_Tiz

The old man who had it and I didn't know what to offer him. Its my first purchase like this. He said $100 and I know for a fact he was low balling himself so I doubled that and we both left very happy.

CJ_Tiz