• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Alternator Rebuild

Turkey

My alternator is going bad. I'm pretty sure its the bearing that is going bad, because its making a loud groaning and squeak noise. I figured I'd save a few bucks and try my hand at rebuilding it. I've never done this before. I have an '84 M1009 so I'm pretty sure the alternators a stock [FONT=&quot]1105500. W[/FONT]here I can get a rebuild kit or how I go about finding the right parts?

Westech

CPL
Do a search the part number has been listed 1000 times. A rebuild kit will set you back around 20 bucks. Bearings only are about 7 bucks a set.
27si is the case model number but most gm alternators all have the same guts and bearings.

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to the site.

While this isn't the only place to get a kit I have used them many times and have had good luck with them

http://www.aspwholesale.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=5137

When you are removing the rear bearing, make sure you support the case somehow. If not you will crack the case and have a chunk of scrap aluminum.

I am looking at your location listed in your profile. Are you from Columbia the country?

Last edited:

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Rebuilding is 100% covered in the TMs.

Turkey

No. The state of Missouri, which is notorious for stealing names from many other countries for its towns. Thanks for the links guys.

In your and Warthog's world, everything about a CUCV to everybody, can be solved by the TM's.

Credit to Hog, he has ripped through everything and is a whiz at highlighting electrical diagrams.

I've learned a lot from him.