• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Texas newbie need X-pert advise

Mestizo777

Looking to build my dream SUV.

I am looking for a 6x6 possibly 3 of them...

Reason want to convert 1 into a 4x4....

Preferably a big single tire type by this u can tell im a newbie... LOL I just fell in luv with them when in training exersises in Little Creek Virginia, Not a driver though always wanted too, but Being a Scout Sniper we were never given that priveledge...

I dont really think i need a 5 ton need advise as to why I should consider one...

would prefer a type that is better at being maintenance free... LOL but i have to try...

Want one where the parts are plentiful and HD...

Whats better auto or manuel?

I want to build my own body and need chasis, suspension, motor and Tranny.

I am sorry if I am asking for too much but your my only hope at making a well educated guess as to what is better for my needs.

Any info will be greatly appreciated....

Respectfuly,

Mestizo777

Jones

Welcome.
Projects are great and I'd suggest getting yourself a 6X6 (duece or 5 ton is your choice) and driving it a bit to get used to something that's big enough to have it's own zip code. After a while you'll have a better idea of what it will and won't do and where you need to make changes to better suit your needs and ideas.
By all means find yourself something that has a supply of replacement parts out there; or uses a lot of off-the-shelf parts. One-of-a-kind rigs mean a continual search for stuff to keep you running-- unless you have a machine shop in your back pocket.