• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

emergency brake

Countryconnor4

hi, i am new to the deuce community. just bought a 1970 m35a2 this past Saturday. i took it to work this morning and when i parked it i went to pull the e-brake up but it would not come up. The brake has worked since Saturday and to my surprise worked well. Any reasons why the e-brake is stuck down?

thanks

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
You need to crawl up under it and see if the pivot arm is seized up, or the show may be bound. Could even be a seized cable. The brake pivot has a grease fitting on it I believe. Use a pry bar and see if you can get any slack anywhere if everything appears to be free from the brake mechanism.

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
Take the cable off and see if you can move it by hand. Try hitting it with a grease gun or taking it apart and adding anti seize

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Did it work Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday?

Please capitalize, as our rules request.

71DeuceAK

Dead thread revival I know, but I'm having a similar situation on a truck, but in this case it's been sitting for 6 years so I suspect rust is the culprit. I didn't want to really just rip on it, or start shooting things with WD40 or Corrosion Block or PB Blaster or Liquid Wrench before I knew what I was doing...suggestions?

someoldmoose