• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Electrical system charging delayed starting issues m998 hummwv

LAXBUBBA

I'm a rookie. Only have very limited knowledge on diagnosing and repairing automotive issues. Good at researching.

Acquired a '87 M998 HUMMWV upgraded in '07 about three months ago. Has 6.5 L & 60 AMP alternator. Over that time, voltmeter seemed to be in the green maintaining charge. Always fired up immediately without turning over at all, when just tapping the toggle switch to START. Never any smoke.
While running through a major rain storm, water began dripping on my left foot. Then panel lights went out one at a time. The next day found leak and repaired it (Under the hood found a grommet with two wires going through it had pulled out of the deck that the wiper washer reservoir sits on) and replaced panel lights - The replacement lights worked. Also found a wire hanging down (unable to determine what the wire goes to) below light switch panel and the wires that connect to it, that had gotten wet from leak. Took connection apart of the wire that felt wet and then left apart after drying it out. Later in day I accidently started it not remembering to reconnect that wire. Uncharacteristically, It suddenly took about 10-15 turns to start. When it did fire up, a plume of white smoke came out of tail pipe.

Since then, it now typically turns over 4-5 times or more to fire up with some smoke, when before it would instantly fire up smokelessly before all this happened. If i'm not mistaken, the glow plug light now only briefly flashes on. Before it would stay one for about 10 seconds before starting it, especially for the first time during the day.