• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Legal issues driving on street with turret cupola

Navy dude

Just a quick question for folks with a cupola and shield setup, ... ever had any law enforcement issues driving around in public? I just installed a setup, only drive my truck enough to keep the systems working. I am not the kind of guy that drives around aggressively looking for attention but I do live in the suburbs. In fact my setup is an aluminum training setup although I do have a mk64 cradle installed. I plan on getting a 50 cal reproduction but that won’t be installed for any of my short jaunts, maybe a parade at the most. I am a professional in my 50’s and the last thing I want is any trouble with the law. I just like the look of the thing sitting in my garage, and restoring it..
82B620C0-6F6E-4B18-A4B5-5E08817DE11E.jpg2A477086-9115-4473-B8AE-F683121F07A7.jpg

MGKMartin

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I drive a M1083A1 with a full turret setup with armored GPK and have never had an issue in Oregon. Only negative comment from a cop was when I stopped to help pull a truck out of a ditch. The cop on the scene gave me grief because I didn't have a gun mounted at the time and he thought it would look a lot better with a .50 mounted.

Chief B

I think that it all depends on the person pulling you over. I do not have anything on mine and I get attention from the cops around here, but they don't pull me over to ticket me, they just want to talk about it. Normally they just follow me until I get to where Im going then stop to talk. The person who sold it to me told me he use to get pulled over in AL all the time just to chat about it though.

Navy dude