• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

700r4/np208 swap

broylz

I know these swaps are talked about often but i cant seem to find the answer im looking for. Is there a way to bolt up the 242 to the 700r4? I thought i had read there was a similar bolt pattern on another tcase model that would bolt up and not need any driveshaft modification...

The trans im currently looking at is coming out of a diesel duburban. It has what should be a 208 tcase. If i went this route, would it require a driveshaft mod?

nattieleather

I'm no expert so I hope someone else chimes in, but if you have the TH400 trans and are swapping to the 700r4 I believe the 700r4 is longer than the th400 and therefore your front shaft will be too short and the rear shaft will be too long. Basically any transmission swap will most likely result in some type of modification to the drive shafts.

osteo16

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Is this thread dead? My set up will be 700r4..Advance Adapters 51-6901....NP218 with Input gear from an NP208.... All same length when bolted together and fits cross member. No mods... This is what I have found recently in my research .. Just need to find a donor 700R4 I can rebuild...

Ocho out

Sharecropper

Steel Soldiers Supporter