Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53

Thread: MEP-803A no AC output

  1. #1
    Sergeant
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts

    Default MEP-803A no AC output

    Started a new thread for a new issue as suggested.

    Got my new to me generator running. Does not have the fuse modification or the MOV mod.

    At first go around, I was on 240v three phase and was showing solid 240v with 60 hz. I rotated the switch to get 240v single phase and showed the same.

    After realizing that I did not have power to the lugs, not realizing that I might have an AC relay issue, I moved the switch back to three phase to see if it would change. With no change, I swapped back to 240v single phase. Now the hertz gauge is reading really low and my volts appear to have some fluctuation.

    Engine start has some bogging down then a return to a 240v range. Voltage read from back of the meter on the panel. The convenience plugs do have 120 volts.

    I am running the test procedure and I am having difficulty identifying a1, a2, etc.. The AC light bulb is operable . Don't have a way to measure hertz

  2. #2
    Sergeant
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts

    Default MEP-803A no AC output

    Well now I am even more confused.

    I went terminal by terminal and loosened and re-engaged each screw. Cranked everything up and now get perfect voltage through the AC circuit.

    Turned everything off and back on the. tried to repower with circuit switch and nothing...




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by k9medic; 09-26-2019 at 17:20.

  3. #3
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Efland, NC
    Posts
    1,835
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 837 Posts

    Default

    Which switch were you moving?
    Chris Medico
    MEP-003a (sold), MEP-803a, MEP-802a, & MEP-831a

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to DieselAddict For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (09-27-2019)

  5. #4
    Sergeant Major
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Near Apex/NC
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 114 Times in 61 Posts

    Default

    Do not change between single and three phase unless the unit is shut down. During engine start, do not release the start switch until the oil pressure stabilizes and add about 5”, it will not hurt the unit.

    Robert

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to robertsears1 For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (09-27-2019)

  7. #5
    Sergeant
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robertsears1 View Post
    Do not change between single and three phase unless the unit is shut down. During engine start, do not release the start switch until the oil pressure stabilizes and add about 5, it will not hurt the unit.

    Robert
    Right now I'm jump starting it from the starter lugs. The starter solenoid is bad.

  8. #6
    Sergeant
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts

    Default

    Well now it works...

    It took forever for me to figure out what the simple issue was but robertsears comment got me to thinking.

    Since I was jumping the starter lug I was not using the start switch so I decided to turn the switch to start after the engine was running.

    Would you believe that the AC switch worked !

    Lesson learned - AC switch has to be energized through the start switch.

    I guess its a cheap lesson. I bought the unit for $375 and put $130 worth of batteries in it.

    $500 for a running generator. So far so good!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to k9medic For This Useful Post:

    Coug (09-26-2019)

  10. #7
    2 Star Admiral Daybreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Northern, Virginia
    Posts
    1,266
    Thanks
    210
    Thanked 1,659 Times in 717 Posts

    Default

    Howdy,

    NOTE: Any changes behind the control panel need to made only with the unit OFF.

    Grounding is important no matter what. Say you energize your unit, and a wire has rubbed through and is touching the frame?... ouch..

    It's a safety thing. Test running, field running, house running, gotta have it grounded.
    Last edited by Daybreak; 09-27-2019 at 12:34.
    ~~Later Mike

  11. #8
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    6,254
    Thanks
    12,073
    Thanked 5,562 Times in 2,683 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by k9medic View Post
    Well now it works...

    It took forever for me to figure out what the simple issue was but robertsears comment got me to thinking.

    Since I was jumping the starter lug I was not using the start switch so I decided to turn the switch to start after the engine was running.

    Would you believe that the AC switch worked !

    Lesson learned - AC switch has to be energized through the start switch.

    I guess it’s a cheap lesson. I bought the unit for $375 and put $130 worth of batteries in it.

    $500 for a running generator. So far so good!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I hope the new starter solves the problem. But like I posted before, if you can not start the set with the S1, not turn it over with the S10, that points first to the K2 relay. If you haven't checked ans tested K2, and the wires that belong to those circuits, your new starter may not fixed the problem

    Had you told us how you were jumping the starter, someone would have told you to place S1 in the run position, so the other circuits would funtion. When the set is turned off, naturally nothing should work.

    I wish you you well in your future endeavors to get this set running.

  12. #9
    Sergeant
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guyfang View Post
    I hope the new starter solves the problem. But like I posted before, if you can not start the set with the S1, not turn it over with the S10, that points first to the K2 relay. If you haven't checked ans tested K2, and the wires that belong to those circuits, your new starter may not fixed the problem
    Had you told us how you were jumping the starter, someone would have told you to place S1 in the run position, so the other circuits would funtion. When the set is turned off, naturally nothing should work.
    I wish you you well in your future endeavors to get this set running.
    S1 was in run. I didn't realize that I evidently have to move it to start (momentary?) in order to be able to engage the AC field. I only bought a new starter relay, not a starter so we shall see.


    I also bought a multimeter that displays hertz. Unfortunately at the scale it shows, I can only see the number 5. That could be 50 or 59, who knows. I'll have to get another meter.

    The hertz meter on the generator can be tapped until it shows 60 hertz though. Everything else seems to be working though.

  13. #10
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    6,254
    Thanks
    12,073
    Thanked 5,562 Times in 2,683 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by k9medic View Post
    S1 was in run. I didn't realize that I evidently have to move it to start (momentary?) in order to be able to engage the AC field. I only bought a new starter relay, (K2?) not a starter so we shall see.


    I also bought a multimeter that displays hertz. Unfortunately at the scale it shows, I can only see the number 5. That could be 50 or 59, who knows. I'll have to get another meter.

    The hertz meter on the generator can be tapped until it shows 60 hertz though. Everything else seems to be working though.
    .

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Guyfang For This Useful Post:

    k9medic (09-27-2019)

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •