Thread: 6.5 engine swap

Corporal
    Thanks

Default 6.5 engine swap

I am new to the hummer and am considering swapping the 6.2 to the 6.5. I have read the posts about the swap and I think I can handle it. I am wondering about the fuel delivery. Do they both use an electric pump? I heard the 6.2 uses a mechanical and the 6.5 an electric. Any advice out there?

4 Star General Retiredwarhorses's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,356 Times in 792 Posts

Assuming your going with the detuned 6.5, you will notice no real improvement in anything.
    if it were me, I would go with a full A2 6.5 drivetrain and install TCM to make the 4 speed trans operable.
    more work and money for sure, but a detuned 6.5 will do nothing for you.
    Retired War Horses Restoration

"Where HMMWV's is All We Do"

A Veteran owned business

www.RetiredWarHorses.com

So many HMMWVs I lost count years ago....

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Retiredwarhorses For This Useful Post:

98G (10-19-2019), NormB (10-10-2019)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by exoilfld View Post
    I am new to the hummer and am considering swapping the 6.2 to the 6.5. I have read the posts about the swap and I think I can handle it. I am wondering about the fuel delivery. Do they both use an electric pump? I heard the 6.2 uses a mechanical and the 6.5 an electric. Any advice out there?
    You heard wrong, at least for the HMMWV. All HMMWVs use a mechanical fuel lift pump and mechanical injection pump. The difference in fuel delivery between the engines is how the injection pump is tuned, and the injectors used. In regular civilian vehicles using this engine, they DID switch to electronic injection pumps around the time the engine size switched to 6.5L.

Sent from my Nokia 6.1 using Tapatalk
    1994 M998A1, 2-dr, 6.5L GEP NA

Checkout my build thread! http://www.steelsoldiers.com/showthr...ild-in-Indiana

Corporal
    Thanks

what is a tcm?

Corporal
    Thanks

never mind; I figured it out.

Thanks