• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

V100 Paint Scheme Question

cobmw

I am a newbie to MV's and to this forum. We are buying a V100 that has a Vietnam history for my 13 year-old son and I to enjoy. We would like to participate in MV preservation events both in Colorado and elsewhere. Our V100 is being completely refurbished and should be ready by February. I'll take a camera when I go to see the progress in the next month or two and post lots of pictures here.

We need to make a decision about the paint scheme. I understand that the V100's used in Vietnam were painted olive drab. None had camo colors. But some were sent elsewhere with camo colors. We prefer the camo colors. But at the same time we want to wear uniforms that match the era of the V100. So do we stick with the rather plain-looking olive drab, wear Vietnam era uniforms, and be 100% authentic? Or do we go with the camo paint and still wear Vietnam uniforms in view of this vehicles Vietnam history? Or some other option? Our objective is to show proper respect towards the personnel who used these vehicles and who might see them on parade while at the same time getting the most enjoyment for me and my son. Any constructive ideas would be appreciated.

Chevytruck

whats the color scheme of the vehicle that is going to haul it?

but if you want to remain authentic i would think that it should stay olive drab
but your choice!:-D

and sorry had to do it

nopics

cobmw

I don't have a truck/trailer yet. Will need to give some thought towards something appropriate from the same era. Guess the tow vehicle could be made to match the V100. Sorry about no photos. The only ones I have are from the man doing the refurbishment. I haven't asked for his permission to use them. I'll ask.