• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Grove M977 Crane

Fawteen

Hi, Noob here.

Place where I work just bought a MILSURP Grove 977 crane. It's in pretty decent shape, just needs a couple of hoses replaced and a good lube job.

I've contacted Grove and surfed around looking for info on this unit, and this place has the most hits.

At the moment, I have two major questions:

1. Can someone point me to a source for an Operator and a Maintenance manual for this unit? I think the Army calls them "TO's"? (Hey, I'm retired Navy, cut me a little slack, okay?:p)

2. We'll be adapting it for fixed operation on our wharf. It's pretty apparent that we'll either have to relocate the controls or find a remote for it. Any ideas on where I might find a remote and the associated cable?

Thanks in advance for any leads.

Not sure how much I can contribute to the forums, but I'll sure keep an eye out for any opportunity to contribute. My background is electronics and electrical maintenance, plus a little welding and fabrication.

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Do you have a pic of the remote? I saw a remote for a crane in my travels, don't know what it was for(I know it was for a military crane). If I could see what you need, that would help.

BFR

Rocket Surgeon
I'm not sure, call grove (717) 597-8121
from my limited experience it is best to be seated when asking for parts prices from crane manufacturers.

Wolf.Dose