• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Big boy tools for deuce

mikey

OK, So I am probably three months away from delivery of my first deuce. Now I need some help with tools. I did search but didn't find much more than a tool per thread. Haven't found anything like a good "starter kit" for newbs. I know that TM 10-1 has a list of tools at the end, but many seem obsolete. A file cabinet? Really?

I am not a mechanic, but plan on doing all the work I can on the deuce. Thanks to Helms manuals I currently do all the work on my ATV and motorcycle. I figure with the TM's and this website, I should be OK on the deuce. I have tools for the bike / atv, but those are prolly kiddy tools compared to what I need for the deuce.

So, I have a few questions...

1. Would it be correct to assume that everything that should come standard with a deuce will be missing? Bottle jack's, air hose etc etc?

2. Here is a brief list of what I think I need. Any additional must have suggestions?

20k tow line
5 ton bottle jack
3/4" socket set
breaker bar
torque wrench (see below)
impact wrench (see below)

3. I believe I need a torque wrench. What range should it cover? 25-250 ft/lb?

4. I am assuming the air hose will be missing. What size air hose so that I can run it from the compressor? 100' x 3//8"?

5. Can anyone recommend an impact wrench that works well with the compressor?

Links to specific tools you recommend would be awesome. Recommendations for additional tools would be appreciated as well. I'm a total newb so I could be missing the obvious. All recommendations will be appreciated.

Thanks guys!

Mikey

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur