• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Fuel system

JSF01

Well after like two weeks of aua trying to figure out what is wrong with my glow plug system in my M1009 causing it not to start when cold, I was looking through the forums and learned it could be a small air leak into the fuel line. Using some clear tubing off the IP like some people suggested in other threads I found that after a few hours of sitting there are a lot of air bubbles in the line when trying to start. I figure that confirms my problem but I do have a question. I have never worked on a fuel system before and therefore do not know much about how the system works. I always thought the process was simply the fuel pump drew fuel from the tank through the fuel filter and pumped it to the injectors which regulated fuel injected into the cylinders. If it was that simple of course why would the IP have a fuel drain back pipe? It looks almost like it is sucking fuel out of the IP. While the solution to my problem is replace the rubber fuel hoses and check other fittings, I was would appreciate it if someone could give me a good description of how the fuel system actually works, as I generally like to know how the things i am working on work.

cucv1833