• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

700r4 swap - core and rebuilt or "new"?

cliffyp

On another forum, someone said that TOO cool is bad, too. He's a trans rebuilder by trade. He recommended adding an external cooler inline with, and BEFORE the radiator heat exchanger. That way, you shed any excess transmission heat BEFORE dumping it into the radiator, but if it's too cool, the radiator heat exchanger can bring it back up to the correct temperature.

This was the first time I'd heard that you can get too cool with a trans. I guess it makes sense that there's an optimal temperature. We all know things don't work as well at 50 below...

What do you folks think about it?
If I recall correctly from my research for my rebuild, something around 170 is optimal and ideally you want to stay under 200. You're getting hot in the 200-220 range but acceptable for short durations. Over that and you're really starting to cook the trans.

My cooler is after the radiator and I generally run 150-160 on the highway and 170-180 in stop and go traffic. I had 2,000 lbs of concrete in the bed on a 30 minute highway drive in OD, and the needle never left 160. I was in some very soft sand, really pushing hard in 2nd gear for 15-20 minutes straight till I was off the beach. My temp got up to just under 200. Once I backed off my temp quickly fell below 180.

Running the cooler before the radiator would probably work in most situations, but I doubt you'd get get temp readings as low as 170 (I have nothing to back that up with). I would rather run 150 all day long than run 200 all day long.

kmcn47