• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

8.3 suddenly started knocking

Joehop

I have a M931A2 which I bought a few months ago from GL. It was overhauled at Ft Riley(not sure of the date) and is showing 1250 on the odometer. I believe the mileage is accurate based on the condition of the interior and rest of the truck. I drove the truck home and put another 150 miles on it since. It was started last week, moved in the yard, then shut down. About an hour later it was started again and started knocking pretty bad immediately upon starting. Now it will run with the knock but is puffing white smoke. I'm not a mechanic by trade but tried to do some testing which was suggested by a mechanic friend. I first checked the surface temp of the exhaust manifold with a IR thermometer, the front cylinder was reading a good 70 degrees cooler from the rest. I replaced that injector with another one and same issue. So now I am at a loss of what else I can do without having the motor taken apart which I'd rather not put the $ into. I think that parting out the truck might be a better option.

Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated

trooper632

Im sure the oil level is ok, And have you changed the oil since YOU have owned it. If not drain the oil and check for metal in it, is so drop the oil pan and look inside. May tell you what the problem is.

R Racing

Are you low on coolant. Or is there any oil in it ? Sounds like your front cylinder isn't firing. Could be lack of compression. Or your compressing something other than fuel ?

Joehop