• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

804a will not crank from master switch

BDenmark92

I don't post in forums very often, sorry if the following information is jumbled

I am a heavy equipment mechanic that normally works on large machinery but a customer recommended me to a friend who just bought a couple of military generators, one of which is an
MEP-804a. I am tasked with making sure both units are ready to be shipped to the Bahamas. They need to be reliable and I wont be able to go there to fix any upcoming issues
This generator is powered by an Isuzu with a Zexel injection pump that appears to have a 2 wire fuel solenoid.
Has 46hrs on meter and sealed documentation showing it was in storage for a long time

Initially the generator started and ran just fine. I started and stopped the engine a dozen times as I checked various systems and verified the power output. I let the engine run for about 30 minutes then killed the engine as I inspected his other generator.

When I returned to this unit, It would not crank from the master switch. I have confirmed the following.
- Will crank from dead crank switch
- Dead crank switch is in Normal position
- DC circuit breaker is pressed in and does not trip
- All contacts on master switch work as they should
- Activating the battle short switch has no effect

When the master switch is in the start position, both the start relay and the crank disconnect relay are activated
The glow plug relay is also activated
Fuel solenoid and crank relay do not activate

I have found if I apply 24V to either #3 or #5 in the image below, the fuel solenoid will immediately activate and the engine will crank from the key switch. The engine will continue to run until I remove power.

Questions: