• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

A little help...with a new purchase of a 5 ton.

pcblakeley

I need your help in getting some information on a truck that I looked at today. I am very new to the MV market and I don't want my first purchase to be a bad one because I didn't know what I was getting into.

So, here goes. I took a test ride in the truck today and I am definetely interested in buying it. I don't know what model or year of the truck. I know it has the whistler engine and it is the multifuel also.

Can you help me decide on whether or not to purchase this 5 ton?

I would primarily use the truck for short drives with the eventual addition of 1600X20 wheels and Hemtt wheels. I will be using this truck at a few off road parks and trails.

What do you guys think for around $3,000?

Attachments

pcblakeley

The Title is in the works and it does run, seems to run very well. It started right up from being cold and smoked only a very little at start up. The truck seemed to shift fine. The oil pressure was at 30 for the whole trip and all the guages worked...

Thanks for the reply

USMC6062

Looks like a deal to me. I'd buy it for that, it looks like it's rust free from the pics. The only thing I see is it has the old complicated style power steering, but that wouldn't be a deal breaker for sure. I don't know myself, but I wonder if the multifuel has enough power to run 6 16R20's.

emr

Looks like a good straight truck, ...worth it.... I would worry about running 1600s for sure they kill most trucks. and also the turning radius will be less, not my choice of tires for sure... 1400s are the most in my opinion, and would also be correct for that size truck. and still will drag on her.... but livable ....

Last edited:

USMC6062