• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

AirPack Rebuild Specifics

tjcouch

First let me say how much I appreciate all of the input on this board - it has been invaluable as I am a new deuce owner.

I have experienced a problem where all of my brakes are dragging - after a brief drive a few drops of water on the drums would sizzle with gusto.

When I open the trailer brake air port on the driver size air is discharged even when the pedal is not depressed.

I have surmised that my airpack is pushing air into and engaging the brakes. Driving with the trailer air valve cracked seemed to mitigate the problem.

So my questions are: 1. is my diagnosis correct? and 2: does anyone have specific instructions on solving this problem. Remember - I am a newbie here. :wink:

cranetruck

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
The air on the driver's side is for trailer braking. It's a direct connection to the air, which provides the boost in the air-pak. It should be discharged as soon as you let up on the brake pedal.
There is a vent for this, which is also tied with the vents from the fuel tank and master cylider. It is dumped via the crankcase breather tube to the outside world.
This vent may simply be blocked.
Otherwise, an air-pak rebuild is in order.
If the service air is open in the back, you'll have no boost, not a good way to travel.

nickd

if you want/need to rebuild your air pack the instructions are contained in TM 9-2320-209-34-2-1section 3 Hydraulic brake system. First I would lubricate the air pack by removing the plug on the rear of the airpack and squirt a few drops and replace the plug.

tjcouch

nickd said: