• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

AZ Newbie looking to buy

Ryanbmw

Hey everyone. I am new to the whole MV thing. I have always wanted a Deuce but could never justify the cost. Now that I am able to afford it, I want to start looking. The only problem is there are so many options out there. I am pretty set on an M35A2. I want it for fun weekend driving, but as a SHTF vehicle, I personally think the manual tranny and multi fuel makes more sense.

What are people's opinions on bobbed vs standard? Anyone pull a camping trailer with their truck? What towing setup do you use?

Is there anyone in the Carefree Hwy and I17 area that could get me a more up close look at a Deuce and the inner workings?

What is up with the major refurb companies wanting $35k+ for a crew cab conversion. I realize there are some major labor hours to do it, but that much for welding a couple cabs together? It's not like they are creating a new cab from scratch. Or am I wrong?

Scar59

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Ryan,
Welcome aboard, contact "Castle Bravo" (Matt) , he is in Tempe, good guy and knows the equipment. He can probably let you look at a truck, maybe even sell you one. Lots of nice old trucks out there for a lot less than 35K, if you're mechanically inclined, they are easy to work on.
JC

WRMorrison

I'm in E. Mesa but will be taking my (by then) bobbed deuce through your area sometime in August; I think I'll try taking it on the Jeep club's annual run on the back way to Crown King instead of the Jeep this year. If you want to see how to bob a deuce, I may be able to get you in to help with mine this Saturday. I'm always game for extra help; just gotta make sure the shop it will be at will allow it.

-WRM

M35A2-AZ

Steel Soldiers Supporter