• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Biodiesel and waste oil

camp9

If it is clean, liquid, flammable, and water free, it goes in my tanks. In everything. Deuce, XM818, 2004 dodge 2500, 1965 ford 4000 tractor, M915A1, M1008.

I was a ships oil king. I've forgotten more about fuel oil testing and quality control then most people learn in a lifetime. Ask anyone on here, my trucks have 0 fuel issues. Yes, sometimes the mix makes them smoke like a freight train, but I'm a locomotive engineer by trade so thats fine with me.

You do NOT need a conversion kit to burn odd stuff- but you must do it carefully and smartly. I've got 242,xxx miles on that dodge, and only have had to change filters and oil, and I get 33mpg highway. And I burn EVERYTHING in that truck. When EMD567 and I came back from Kansas, I got 21mpg and that was with a total truck and trailer weight of 14,140lbs and going 70+ MPH. 2cents

:tinkerbell:

Some diesels are just built with very narrow fuel requirements. If you mix and blend to keep it within the design perimeters, you will have no issues as well.
How have you kept your system from coking on the 6.2'? I have a 7.3 idi with fattywagon heaters and after a few months have coking to deal with. Im in the process of putting water injection in to hopefully deal with it. I've been running straight wmo and wvo (100%) with a heated tank. I even centrifuge but don't have turbo on any of the trucks. I've heard that turbo can made a difference on coking so that might be my problem. I've been hesitant to try it on any of my 6.2's until I get it figured out. Thanks,

Last edited:

Beyond Biodiesel