• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Bleeding the fuel filter on a 818

OldGoat

I am new to the 5 ton 818's. Do you drain the fuel filter like you would on a deuce? Do you turn the ignition on & then drain, or do you need to start the engine and drain while it's running?

area52

The cummins powered trucks do not have an in tank fuel pump so drain the filter housing, replace the filter then fill in back up as much as possible with fuel and then reattach. Any little air in the line causes hard starting.

jwaller

if you want to only drain the filter then you should open the petcock on the bottom of the filter and then open the petcock on the feed line coming from the tank valve on the top of the filter. this will drain the crud from the bottom of the filter.

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The cummins powered trucks do not have an in tank fuel pump so drain the filter housing, replace the filter then fill in back up as much as possible with fuel and then reattach. Any little air in the line causes hard starting.
I my self do not like filling the canister. I feel it makes for a cleaner and safer job to put in the new filter and bleed it out with the primer pump.
If you are new to the system the petcock for bleeding the system on the intake manifold by firewall under spark plug. Pump the primer till you have good pressure and no air. Will take some time but I still feel that this is the way.

bigmike

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I my self do not like filling the canister. I feel it makes for a cleaner and safer job to put in the new filter and bleed it out with the primer pump.