• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Bumper Numbers ID

tklm539

I am new to this and not sure where I could find out what the bumper numbers stand for.

The Drivers side front is "SVS2-A"

The Passenger side is "42-IF258" I am guessing on the 4 it is pretty worn off

Any help or advice would be great

Tom

Attachments

maddawg308

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Here we go:

42nd Infantry Division, 258th Field Artillery

Service Battery Alpha, vehicle #2

Unit is based out of Jamaica, NY, and is a branch of the Army National Guard.

emmado22

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
One battery of the 258th FA is based right down the road from me in Newburgh NY. They just got FMTV's. This is one of the trucks they turned in.. Nice truck!

Opie

General question: Folks have mentioned that vehicle number"x" was typically the First Sergeant's/commander's/etc. vehicle. Any general rule of thumb for those, or did it just depend on the type of unit?

ah1955

A little off topic maybe but I have been wondering about the bumper #'s and what would be correct when it comes to desplaying them.
I know that the last unit my deuce was at was a Mass. guard unit ( the inspection report that sent the truck to DRMO was in it).
They did a real good job of covering them up can't read them at all, but I could find out what they shoud be, But what I really want to do is use the numbers that the Pa. guard unit that my dad retired from would have used.
After all that my question is would it be proper or even maybe leagle to desplay #'s that don't mean anything (someone think you are trying to inpersonate the real thing).
Would not want to offend any current attive duty personall most of all much less get in a conflict with the police.