• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

coverting a CUCv from 24V to 12V

joeyaguirre21

how's everyone doing, I'm new to this so help me out. I just bought my first CUCV couple months back and finally got around to fixing it up to start driving. I'm just curious on the conversion just in case I need to buy a starter and can't find or afford a 24V at that moment. so I hope someone can help me and by converting it to 12V, what else would I have to chnage

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It is not a bad idea to have a spare stater and a spare alternator on hand if you own a MV. This will eliminate the no money to fix or can't find one when you need it . If it isn't your daily driver breaking down isn't that big of a issue , but if the starter goes out on a sunday afternoon and you need it for work monday morning spare parts are a must for a 30+ year old truck , whether it's 24v or 12v it's a good chance the parts store will have to get it from the warehouse.

NovacaineFix

To get a better understanding, why are you considering converting it to full 12V?

I stand behind Porky and Recovery, not only does the stock configure work well (it's not perfect, but it works) it isn't that hard to really figure out, most people just overthink it.

If you are going to convert it, follow the steps in the link that Porky posted, if you skip out and do something different, it will be that much harder to diagnose future issues.
When I 1st saw these, the 24/12V system threw me for a loop, but now after having one of my own and knowing how it works, it's gravy, besides like Porky said, it will be cheaper down the road leaving it stock.