• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Deuces in the Bay State area?

SandMan

Still in the research phase, but seriously considering springing for one as a running, self-educational project - (just out of college and currently unemployed) mechanical engineer desk-jockey by trade, amateur grease monkey by habit. I've fixed clocks and radios, worked on some small engines and old cars, done some redneck engineering with nothing but rebar, leaf springs and a welder, and I think I owe it to myself to graduate to bigger toys. Think I'm up for a Deuce?

I'm in the Boston, MA area and the only nearby places I know of (that stock deuces of course) are Eastern Surplus and Coleman's Military Surplus, both of which are about 7-10 hours drive. If anyone knows of a closer place or anyone is selling in the area let me know.

Been gradually compiling a (rather short) list of requirements in my head:
-six wheels (all of them!)
-winch (if nothing else to intimidate the shit out of the yuppies that take their beemers oversand on the islands)
-legally drivable (I need to get it home and don't want to pay for transport or fines)
-intact bed (gonna be hauling some junk around)

and a list of nice to have, but not necessary:
-multifuel turbo (suppose I could always convert it back from diesel only if necessary, have plans for the multifuel bit)
-airshift (eh, why not)
-little or no rust-through on most of the body panels (in it for the mechanical stuff, not the cosmetics)
-low-ish mileage (is this important, or are these things tougher than rock?)
-heated cab (New England winters can be rough, though I have been known to walk around in a tshirt in sub-zero weather...)

anything I should add or subtract?