• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Diff lock side effects

cranetruck

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have no experience with locking differentials and am curious about possible side effects when not used.

If a deuce was equipped with these (Norweigan M621), would that decrease mpg, cause problems when taking turns etc?

TIA for any info on this.

ida34

Greater tire wear. It would make turning more difficult. Don't know if it would be noticeable in a deuce. Tire noise when turning. If in the rear the rear would tend to go sideways easier on ice and snow because when the traction is lost it is lost for both wheels. Stronger lockers give stronger issues. Weaker ones have most of the same issues but they are not as pronounced. I would say mpg would go down slightly because of greater tire friction. It may be so small as to not be noticable.

BFR

Rocket Surgeon
I agree w/ Chuck if you are talking about auto lockers (i.e. detroit), but if it is a selectable locker (you manually choose when to lock) the diff will feel/operate just like an open diff when unlocked. A while ago there was talk of ARB making a locker(selectable) for the 2.5 ton axles, but I don't know what came of it.

ida34

Now they are making electric lockers. Both the air and electric actuated would give you the best of both worlds with little or now side effects.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter