• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

DO NOT DO THIS: MEP-016B fill fuel filter manually

magpie

INTRO: Ok, so I'm new to the MEP (generator) line of product offerings. I was able to procure a low time (114.6 hr) MEP-016B with ASK (701a) housing. For a low cost of $(can't post here message for going rate). Finding my MEP-016B in good working order as defined by various observations. None of which made a stick of difference in determining the ultimate "working ready state" of the machine. For example: Some say to NOT purchase one which has rusted screws on the HOBBS (hour) meter. Atypical, I find mine to be rusted but all other gauges and stampings to be complete and intact. With this I leave you the forum scavenger my 2 cents worth of advice, which is equal to all other advice. As it pertains to scoping a machine from GL that you can't start and verify is in good working order. Rather one must rely on visual cues alone as to the last state of the machine. My advice is to look for worn or chipped paint that maybe indicative of a component problem. Examine and know all you can about the component and determine what the repair cost of said such might be. Base your decision on this and what your overall "feeling" of the machine as a whole. With all that said, I came out to the good strictly by chance as I performed NO vetting of the device other than looking at it in person. I am fortunate!