• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Engine oil leak from rear main seal?

Nickaru

I have a M1008. I'm new to the MV stuff, but I'm excited to work on it. I noticed I have some oil dripping and it looks like the rear main seal is leaking. Is this common on these 6.2 diesels? If it is the seal, is the repair possible without pulling the engine?

I'm trying to get up to speed on these 6.2 engines. Thanks for any help you can give me.

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Remember to start looking high for the leak. They all end up at the rear of the pan. It would suck to pull the trans/t-case only to find it was a valve cover aua

No, you don't need to pull the engine, just the t-case and trans. The t-case is heavy.

Matt65

Exactly, be sure of where she's leaking. My IP slowly leaks diesel, and I thought it was the rear main. Below is good information from the CUCV wiki / FAQ.

List your truck model in your signature, this will always help.

Welcome to the forum!

Autozone rear main ~ $22
Autozone oil pan seals ~ $12

Here are the steps I took:

1. Jack up front end frame, to raise frame slightly off axle. Even an inch will help.
  2. Drain oil, remove filter.
  3. Unplug batteries
  4. Remove starter
  5. Remove bottom access for bell housing, tricky since tranny cooling lines have to be pushed over a bit, no need to remove the lines though
  6. Pull oil pan, may need to loosen a line for the front axle breather from frame rail, tends to block access to front bolts on oil pan. Use a screwdriver to gently pry the pan loose from the engine block if it sticks; which it should if RTV was used.
  7. Remove oil pump/pickup
  8. Remove rear main bearing cap
  9. Remove old seal