• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Engine Swap

abh3

I'm a newbie to modifications and need some input... I have a nice 'spare' duece with a bad engine (looks like the bottom end wasn't torqued and basically fell apart in 2,500 miles!) that I'd like to play around with since my other has a dump body and is a work vehicle...

I have a sweet V555 Cummins (yeah, I know, love or hate, no middle ground) with less than 50K miles on it. I also can come up with an Allison AT545 4 spd auto OR an RT-610 10spd for a transmission if necessary.

1) What is the bellhousing size on the M35 trans, SAE #3?
2) Any experience with the V555 in a duece?
3) Any experience with AT545 or RT-610 in a duece, will the auto last or the 10 spd fit?

The alternative is a 440 w/ 727 automatic, that might work for light duty woods riding but I like to be able to burn off-road diesel, hydraulic, used oil, etc.!

Thanks for your time.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to the site. Please add you location to your info. We want to know where you are.( It's one of the only reqirements here) The bellhousing is sae3 i believe.

Stretch44875

Super Jr. Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Couple of people have put v8 diesels in, but very tight fit, and lot of fab work. I think an auto would be a neat idea, but the stock deuce tranny has overdrive and still only does 56mph.

I thought about putting my 9.0L (551ci) v8 international in a deuce, but it's only 180hp. With the stock deuce engine turned up a bit, pretty sure I am at least 180 hp.

Dennis

Last edited:

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter