• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Getting started from scratch with a Deuce in 2024?

Mullaney

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
I've never driven any tankers so I have zero first-hand experience. My dad drove a big tandem-axle water tanker when he was a volunteer fireman. It was some big long-wheelbase Peterbilt with some ungodly huge tank on it. The fire department eventually got rid of it for a smaller tanker truck because only those with a tanker endorsement on a Class A or B CDL could drive it, and there were only five guys or so who had that!

I get the slosh though. I can't help but imagine turning a partially-loaded tanker truck one way yet feeling the back end wanting to continue in the direction you didn't want to continue going! The extra 10000 lbs or so curb weight on the 5-ton must help, but like you were saying the fluid physics in the tank still need to be managed :whistle:
Yes Sir! I drove a milk tanker - with a friend who drove it regularly - on a few weekends. That "milk slosh" was something! First time I applied the brakes that slap of the milk running to the front of the tank took my breath away...

canadacountry

I don't mean to start an offtopic remark but a fictional someone by the name of Winston Rothschild actually once mentioned that he started sewage service by using a station wagon with liner in the very rear although sudden stops could be a very messy affair! (I mean seriously tho, transporting raw sewage openly inside a station wagon?? some people..are umm are a little too nutty?)

HDN